Please note that the ITU Academy platform has been upgraded recently. To view all changes, please refresh your browser with "Cntrl+F5". Thank you.  

Font Size




The selection process for the next four-year CoE cycle (2019-2022) is now launched. To find out more please click here.


The Centres of Excellence (CoE) programme was launched by the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) at the turn of the millennium, aiming to support capacity building in the field of information and communication technologies (ICTs). Designed to offer continuous education to ICT professionals and executives in the public and private spheres through face-to-face or distance learning programmes, the Centres serve as regional focal points for professional development, research, and knowledge sharing, as well as provide specialist training services to external clients.

With the support from multilateral and regional organizations, CoE networks have been established in a number of regions including Africa, the Americas, Arab States, Asia-Pacific, Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) and Europe. Under the umbrella of the ITU Academy, these regional networks are brought together into a single global network sharing expertise, resources and capacity-building know-how in telecommunications and ICT training/education. The network is composed of 30 Centres across the globe, six each in the Africa, Americas and Arab regions, five in the Europe region, four in the Asia-Pacific region and three in the CIS region.

To see the training courses offered by the CoEs, click here


CoE Global Network 

More information on the 30 CoEs 


The Centres of Excellence project was established pursuant to resolutions of the ITU Plenipotentiary conferences of Kyoto (1994) and Minneapolis (1998) and was launched in 1997 as a worldwide initiative.

The project was conceived as a human and institutional capacity building partnership between ITU, private sector companies in the telecommunications industry, development institutions and training institutions in the recipient regions. Centres of Excellence would be the delivery vehicles for the training as well as recipients of institutional support. They were to achieve self-sustainability, relying on the revenues generated from the activities they run.

The CoE initiative began operation in 2000 and evolved over the years to become one of the ITU’s key training delivery mechanisms. Between 2000 and 2013, the number of Centres grew from two Centres in one region to more than 60 Centres worldwide, running an average of 100 training activities per year. Following the introduction of the new Centres of Excellence strategy in 2014, 32 institutions were selected into the network for the 2015-2018 Cycle.

CoE 2015-2018 Cycle

A new strategy was implemented for the ITU Academy’s Centres of Excellence, starting with the 2015–2018 cycle. The new strategy was introduced following the decision of the ITU membership through Resolution 73 of WTDC-10. The new strategy provides an opportunity for renewal and revitalisation of the Centres concept, for the emergence of new ideas and objectives and for new ways of working that are attuned to current and future capacity-building needs as well as new financial realities.


Download the COE Strategic Review and Recommendations for the Future
[English] [Arabic] [Chinese] [French] [Russian] [Spanish



Operational Processes and Procedures

The Operational Processes and Procedures Document was developed to guide the implementation process of the new CoE strategy. The document explains among other things: the principles guiding the new strategy; the selection of the Centres of Excellence; the Governance process and structure, and how the Centres will operate and relate to other stakeholders.


Download the Operational Processes and Procedures Report

[English] [Arabic] [Chinese]  [French] [Russian] [Spanish]


Priority Areas

Under the new strategy, Centres are selected  to provide training in a particular area of significance to the ITU membership. The following areas were identified as priorities at the World Telecommunications Development Conference 2014:  


The newly-selected Centres of Excellence each focus on one or more of these key priority areas, delivering capacity building activities to participants from across the world. Click here to see the full list of selected CoEs by Region.